The Te Puru Community Charitable Trust

About the Trust

The Te Puru Community Charitable Trust was formed in 2002 to complete and run the Te Puru Community Centre. The Trust was formed by the then Manukau City Council. The initial trustees saw the completion of the centre and got the operational side up and running.

Strategic Goals

The strategic goals of the Trust for the next 3 years are to redevelop the centre to support the Trust’s vision of a vibrant active hub of the community. Planned developments include:

  • Relocation of the administration area to the south side of the building, which is currently the back entrance. This will provide a stronger front of house service.
  • Provide an events entrance directly into the stadium for ease of transfer between sorting services

In addition to the building developments, the Trust is looking at working with current park users, the community and the Franklin Local Board in developing the park. Park developments include:

  • Additional parking
  • More flood lighting
  • Fitness trail around the park
  • All-weather multipurpose training surface


The Te Puru Community Centre forms part of the Auckland Councils Facilities Network. As a result, 33% of the Trust’s funding comes from the Council Community Access Grant which enables it to provide activities and spaces for the community to engage in active recreation and leisure.

The remaining funding required to operate the facility, about $200,000, comes from affiliation fees, clubrooms usage, school holiday programme, food and beverage sales, room hire and general usage. The Trust supports the local communities through discounted room hires, sharing of profits and employing staff from within the community.

The Trust

The Trust currently comprises the following members:

Mathew Tucker Chair
Angela Mason Deputy Chair
Jessica Milne TRUST MEMBER
Simon MacKechnie Trust Member
Natasha Smith Trust Secretary